The St. Nicholas on the Embankment Church is an Orthodox church in Podil, named for its location on the Dnipro River. The first written mention of the church dates back to 1552. Designed by Ivan Hryhorovych-Barskyi, it combines features of Ukrainian Baroque and Classical architectural styles. During a fire in 1811, only the walls survived, but the church's icon of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker (first half of the 17th century) was saved and is still preserved today. After its reconstruction, the church was painted by a group of Kyiv masters, and its carved iconostasis was completed in the forms of late Classicism. Next to the church stands a granite cross with the inscription: "To those who laid down their lives on the altar of Ukraine." Divine services are regularly held in the church.