The St. Michael's Vydubychi Men's Monastery is an architectural complex of churches situated on the slopes of the Pechersk Hills, almost on the banks of the Dnipro River, near the Hryshko National Botanical Garden. After the discovery of the Zvirynets Caves at the end of the 19th century, it became clear that the underground monastery in honour of the Archangel Michael existed here long before the adoption of Christianity by Prince Volodymyr. When the persecution of Christians stopped after 988, the monks came out of the underground, founded a new monastery, and named it Vydubytskyi after the name of the area. Its central structure is the St. George's Cathedral, considered one of the finest examples of Ukrainian architecture from the Hetmanate era. The St. Michael's Church, built between 1070 and 1088, is also preserved on the monastery grounds. The architectural ensemble further includes: the Transfiguration Church, a bell tower, the abbot's house, a monastic building, a cemetery, and monuments. Almost all structures hold the status of architectural and urban planning monuments. Many prominent figures were buried here. Divine services are regularly held in the church.